Aderhold Learning Center
Georgia Aquarium
Oui Team
GSU students
IPDPS 2010
Stephen Pellicer
Final Exam
ACM Student Chapter Officers
ISBRA 2007
The Department of Computer Science was created in 1999 when Georgia State's Department of Mathematics and Computer Science was split into two departments. Since then, the department has made tremendous strides, including hiring a first-class faculty, creating a successful Ph.D. program, and building collaborative research and education programs with other science departments. Active research areas in the department include bioinformatics, graphics and visualization, networks and distributed systems, and algorithms. Six faculty members (Dr. Zhipeng Cai, Dr. Xiaojun Cao, Dr. Xiaolin Hu, Dr. Yingshu Li, Dr. WenZhan Song, and Dr. Raheem Beyah, now at Georgia Tech) have won awards from the National Science Foundation's Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Program. The department's Ph.D. program is nationally competitive and ranks among the best in the Southeast, according to National Research Council data. The program also has a high rank in several categories at the PhDs.org website. More...


Westbrooks Visits GSU
Ph.D. graduate Kelly Westbrooks will return to GSU to give talks on March 26 and 27.

CS Majors Win Second Place at Emory Hackathon
A team of four Georgia State undergraduate CS majors won second place at the Emory Hackathon held last April.

Department Seeks to Hire Faculty Member
The department is seeking to hire a faculty member to perform research in transcultural conflict and violence.

ACM Chapter Changes Officers
On January 1, the Georgia State University student chapter of the ACM made two officer changes.

Owen Elected to SIG Governing Board Executive Committee
Professor Emeritus G. Scott Owen has been elected to the Executive Committee of ACM's SIG Governing Board.


Wednesday, April 15, 2015 - 1:30pm
M.S. Project Defense
De-Anonymizing Online Dating: Using Free, Public, Online Data to Obtain Personally Identifiable Information
Matt Svensson
Advisor: Dr. Anu Bourgeois
Department Conference Room (25 Park Place, Room 755)

Sunday, June 7, 2015 - 9:00am
11th International Symposium on Bioinformatics Research and Applications (ISBRA 2015)
Old Dominion University

Wednesday, September 9, 2015 - 9:00am
6th ACM Conference on Bioinformatics, Computational Biology, and Health Informatics (ACM BCB 2015)
Georgia Tech Global Learning Center